Strawberry Curd

It’s still strange for me to see the word Strawberry up there instead of seeing Lemon. And someone recently told me they’ve even heard of making Lime Curd. THE WORLD HAS GONE CRAZY!!! LOL.

Either way I’m embracing change, which if you know me, you might find that hard to believe. 😉

This post is dedicated to the Strawberry Curd filling I recently used to fill my Lime Macaron. I can say for certainty that this filling intrigued me enough to attempt it. Now, I have made the famed Lemon Curd before, and absolutely loved the results. So, when I combined one of my favorite fruits; Strawberries, and one of my favorite spreads; Curd, it abso-freaking-lately needed made.

And now, with no further ado; here’s the recipe for…

Strawberry Curd

Ingredients:

1 cup sliced strawberries (about 8 medium)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 TBSP cornstarch
1 egg yolk, lightly beaten
2 tsp lemon juice
2 TBSP butter, cut into pieces

Directions:

(1) Place strawberries in food processor, blender, or (using the lemon juice as a catalyst to help in blending) immersion blender; process until smooth, about 30 seconds. Strain purée through a chinois into a small saucepan, to remove seeds; this takes some time and elbow grease.
(2) Combine 1/4 cup sugar, cornstarch, egg yolk, and lemon juice (if not already used in previous step) in saucepan with strawberry purée. Place pan over medium heat and cook for 6-7 minutes or until very thick, whisking constantly. Remove from heat, and whisk in the butter a few pieces at a time, until incorporated. Let filling cool to room temperature before using.

Enjoy!

Here’s a picture of the filling used with the lime shells:

20140120-010808.jpg

Leave a comment